× Contact Us              × About Us              × Login
Nebraska Federation of Music Clubs
Home Page
Board Meeting Minutes
Skip Navigation Links
Membership Info
Skip Navigation Links
Member Directory


Spring Board Meeting June 3, 2011

Nebraska Federation of Music Clubs

Meeting Details


NFMC Annual Fall Business Meeting


Friday, June 3, 2011


President Ellen Kershaw


9:30 am



1402 Camp Gifford Road

Bellevue, Nebraska 68005

Motions Passed / Decisions Made

Ø  NFMC Minutes will begin to be posted on the website http://nebraskafederationmusic.org/

Ø  Cheryl Freeman will send Gold Cups on hand to Bellevue.

Ø  The new Essay Contest Chair is Sharon Kazmierski.

Ø  Summer music scholarships were awarded to David Von Behren $300 and Aly Guenette $200.

Ø  10% of proceeds from Uncle Larry’s Brawl of the Bands will be donated to the Nebraska Federation of Music Clubs. 

Ø  A new line budget item will be added in the fall for Summer Camp Scholarships.

Ø  Junior membership is not required for Piano Scholarship Competition applicants.

o   The scholarship application form needs to state that NFMC membership is not required.

o   National membership is not required because the Piano Scholarship Competition is a state event.


Participants Present

Ellen Kershaw, President

Sharon Kazmierski, First Vice President

Bonnie Guinn, Treasurer

Phyllis Dunne, Immediate Past President, Advisor

Chronological Minutes of the Meeting

The meeting of the Nebraska Federation of Music Clubs was called to order by President Ellen Kershaw at 9:30 a.m.

Ø  Minutes were approved from the Fall Board Meeting from Oct. 9, 2010.

Ø  The Treasurer’s Report was accepted for the fiscal year (June 1, 2010 – May 31, 2011).  It was very well done.

Ø  Reports were accepted:

o   Composition

o   Honors Recital

o   Scholarship Audition

o   Gold Cup

o   Festival

Ø  It was suggested to Cheryl Freeman that NFMC Gold Cups on hand be sent to Bellevue.

Ø  Sharon Kazmierski will take the position of Essay Contest Chair for the state of Nebraska.

Ø  An electronic vote passed to award two summer music camp scholarships:

o   David Von Behren $300.00

o   Aly Guenette $200.00

Ø  A thank you note was read from David Von Behren for the Audition Scholarship.

Ø  A motion was passed to adjourn the meeting.


                        Note:  These minutes were approved at the board meeting on Oct. 15, 2011.

Copyright © NeFMC 2013.  All Rights Reserved.
Please direct all programming and site maintenance questions to the webmaster at
Please forward all organizational requests to info@nebraskafederationmusic.org.